#Hola Ibiza!

I arrived in Ibiza at 10.00pm at night. I actually hadn’t arranged a transfer from the airport to my hotel, I figured I’d be fine it’s all part of the adventure…..I managed to find a bus that only cost €4…. Only thing now was that I knew the bus stop I was going to be dropped at in San Antonio but I didn’t know where my hotel was from there…. Maybe I should have just paid for the €30 taxi!…..I asked the bus driver for directions which I kind of understood and headed that way….….. Right, left , left, right, right…..Thankfully along the way a lovely lady pointed me in the right direction as his left meant my right. Note to self, get a map!

I spent the first few days just relaxing, I haven’t had a proper overseas holiday in so long, it was nice to just chill out on the beach and get familiar with the island again. It is hard not to love Ibiza, getting up at 1am is completely acceptable, it is sunny and hot all the time even at 1am it’s 24 degrees, you can have an afternoon siesta, the beaches are beautiful and there are always things to see and do, bars, clubs, restaurants and people everywhere from everywhere of all ages, shapes and sizes….. And you can get a litre of vodka for €13!

I don’t know anyone who lives here so some friends put me in touch with their friends who live on the island just to give me some advice and have someone to talk too basically…. One of the friend of a friend of literally a friend is a DJ at a bar in the West End. The West End is a popular strip in San Antonio filled with bars and clubs. I decided to go and watch the sunset then head to the West End to meet DJ Danny. We hadn’t set a time or even a day, it’s so relaxed here you just do what you want as plans change all the time…. I didn’t really know what Danny looked like but figured going straight to the DJ booth would be my best bet.

I only planned on stopping in to say Hi, maybe have a drink and then head back to the chorizo roll waiting in my room….. Hi my name is Claire and I am addicted to chorizo, €1 a packet chorizo to be exact.

The night did not really turn out quite as I imagined….. I know we had 5 shots and Danny said ‘You don’t have to keep up with me’ … ‘I’m half Aussie half Scottish, you may have to keep up with me’ I said…..After that I lost count…. Easily over 10 shots each were had and I stayed dancing with DJ Danny in his DJ booth till 6am….. I still went home to my chorizo roll….. Eventually!

Chorizo and Sunsets

 

Leave a comment